Oracle Observations

November 20, 2011

Tuesday. – UKOUG 2011 TEBS planned agenda day 3

Filed under: Uncategorized — bigdaveroberts @ 12:30 am

9:00 – 10:00

Strangely neither Doug or Boneist appear to be attending the first session of the Day.

Niall indicates his presence at the RAC Attack at certain points during the day, but will he be there at 9:00 am?

I’ll probably attend the Oracle GlassFish Server, Java Enterprise Edition and JVM Roadmap, obviously presuming I’m not with Niall and Doug the previous evening.

10:10 – 10:55

Doug is attending Who’s afraid of Analytic Functions? Which also receives a second vote by Boneist.

Boneist is also attending Nialls’ First Things First: Getting the basics right.

I’m torn between Nialls’ session and the APEX Roundtable. I may choose the roundtable on the basis that with Nialls’ commitment to the Oracle SIGs, I may get the opportunity to revisit his session at another time!

11:15 – 12:15

Niall votes for Troubleshooting RAC.

Doug votes for Execution Plan Interpretation which also receives a second vote from Boneist.

Boneist votes for Analysing Your Data with Analytic Functions.

While I believe I have a good understanding of Execution Plan Interpretation, Past experience of Joze Senegacni indicates that with humour you tend to not get quite what you expected from the session title, and I hope to be presently surprised again!

12:25 – 13:25

Niall and Doug both vote for Instrumentation – Why You Should Care.

Boneist votes for Oracle Optimizer – Best Practices for Managing Optimizer Statistics, Tuning, Refactoring, and Instrumenting Code for Developers and Troubleshooting the Most Complex Oracle Performance Problem I’ve Ever Seen.

My preference is almost always Taniel Poder! and while the session title makes me wonder if I will be able to widely apply what I learn here, I don’t think I’ll regret it!

14:40 – 15:25

Niall, Doug and Boneist have all voted for ASH Outliers: Detecting Unusual Events in Active Session History.

I have never heard of John Beresniewicz. This might be something I have to remedy before the conference!

However unless I’m interested by what I find in the meantime, I’ll be attending the Development tools roundtable!

15:35 – 16:20

Doug and Boneist will be attending Can people be identified in the database?

Niall will be attending Oracle on the Amazon Cloud – What should you consider.

I will be joining Niall in this case.

I should note that Pete Finigans’ session is excellent! I’ve already seen it twice! Pete planned to present this session in 2010 but was prevented by the snow. (Pete isn’t a man of great stature.) He has subsequently presented this at at least 2 SIGs and I strongly recommend this session in spite of the fact that I will not be there!

16:40 – 17:40

Niall votes My Case for Agile Methods.

Doug and Boneist vote for Beating the Oracle Optimizer.

I like to attend Mr Trichlers OTN hands on workshops. I also want to attend Beating the Oracle Optimizer and Moving from Oracle Forms to Oracle ADF: Case Studies.

17:50 – 18:35                                                                                         

Niall, Doug and Boneist are all attending Challenges and Chances of the 11g Query Optimizer.

Simply, Johnathon Lewis recommends Christian Antogninis’ book on the subject of performance troubleshooting.

There can be little higher recommendation!

I will however be attending SQL Developer Data Modeller as a replacement for Oracle Designer.

Hopefully, that will end early and then I’ll sneak into the end of the OTN Workshop!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

