Oracle Observations

November 19, 2011

Monday – UKOUG 2011 TEBS planned agenda day 2

Filed under: Uncategorized — bigdaveroberts @ 10:53 am

So Sunday, with at most 2 simultaneous sessions has already left me with one dilemma, obviously Monday brings several more!

10:00 – 10:45

Doug, Niall and Boneist all vote Kyle Hailey.

My vote would be Duncan mills – debugging ADF applications, however as this is an extra length session, it then clashes with other sessions.

11:05 – 12:05

Niall and Boneist vote Connor McDonald – Partitioning 101.

Doug votes Greg Rahn – Deep dive into the SQL Monitoring report.

As stated previously, I’m, inclined to Duncan Mills that  due to its length also clashes with both these sessions.

My natural preference would either be Greg Rhan or Grant Ronalds ‘Future of Forms’.

I suspect that it will be Duncan mills till 11:05, if the session is compelling I’ll stay, if not then depending on how good Connors OAK table session was on Sunday, I might try that or Gregs’ session.

I’m hoping that Grants session overlaps heavily with sessions I’ve done previously. I’ll download the slides though, just in case!

12:15 – 13:15

Doug and Boneist vote Maria Colgan – Upgrading to Oracle Database 11g without pain.

Niall votes Mariusz Piorkowski – Going deeper into Real Application Testing.

While both sessions sound interesting, my organisation is already on 11g, and the performance issues we experience are predominantly application design based issues. I’m not aware of any specific 11g performance issues beyond the fact that the  /*+rule hint tends to be substantially less beneficial in more cases than in the past.

So, I’m probably going for Bryn Llewellyn – Using the PL/SQL Hierarchical Performance Profiler.

14:30 – 15:15

Doug votes Wolfgang Breitling – Using Ashmon.

Niall votes John Hallas – Automatic Diagnostic Repository (Doug also casts a second vote for John).

Boneist votes Simon Haslam – High Availability Options for Modern Oracle Infrastructures. 

Of the above I’d choose Wolfgang, however I’m also tempted by Grant Ronald – ADF’s hidden gem – the Groovy scripting language in Oracle ADF.

Ultimately I’ll probably go to the Application server and fusion middleware Round table. Roundtables are the classic forum for networking with both obscure and interesting real problems!

15:25 – 16:05

Niall votes for MySQL: the least an Oracle DBA needs to know.

Doug has voted for Exadata I/O Resource Management.

Boneist has voted for Implementing Effective Oracle Database Auditing in 3 Steps.

I’ve already had the pleasure of experiencing Patricks’ MySQL session at a SIG. While he promised that he would extend the presentation for the conference, I’m satisfied with what he’s taught me about MySQL already.

And generally any session by an employee of Pythian is worthwhile.

However I plan to attend the ADF Patterns for Forms Conversions by Robert Nocera.

16:35 – 17:35

Both Niall and Boneist vote for Database I/O Performance: Measuring and Planning.

Doug votes for Adaptive Cursor Sharing – An Introduction and again takes a second vote for The DB Time Performance Method (part 1).

While Mr Gorbachev is always insightful, I’m probably going to vote with Dougs’ second choice for the DB Time performance method.

17:45 – 18:30

Niall and Boneist both vote for Doug who will be presenting his Performance and Stability with Oracle 11g SQL Plan Management.

Unfortunately The DB time Performance Method is a double length session and I am unable to attend Dougs’ session which would definitely be my second choice!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

