Oracle Observations

December 3, 2008

ukoug 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — bigdaveroberts @ 1:22 am

It seems to be 8 months since I last blogged. Unfortunately my work seems to be becoming less and less oracle related. However with the onset of the 25th anniversary UKOUG conference, I do have a little to blog!

Much of the excitement this year has related to the launch of the exadata machine, which is perhaps best described as a Data Warehouse accelerator.

In technical terms, some of the processing that was previously performed by the database server has been offloaded to ‘intelligent’ Disk arrays.

Ultimately, a little very clever software has been used to leverage high end commodity hardware to produce a relatively cheap very fast Data warehouse machine. Moving Oracle even father ahead of SQL*Server in the crucial Decision management arena.

However as this technology has little relevance to my current customer, I skipped most of the sessions on exadata apart from the demonstration of Oracle’s exadata simulator.

Unlike some attendees, it is not my intention to blog about all the sessions that I attend, ultimately I attend the sessions to learn myself, and without independent investigation, I lack confidence that I could fully relate their content accurately.

What I do intend to do, is relate some of the information from the round tables that I attend. It is my opinion that the frank exchange of information between experts that these sessions consist of is highly valuable, and without formal slides available for obvious reasons should be documented and disseminated.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

