Oracle Observations

October 3, 2012

UKOUG TEBS conference 2012 agenda.

Filed under: Uncategorized — bigdaveroberts @ 3:58 pm

With the arrival of the online agenda, comes the difficult task of planning my conference.

This year is more difficult than most as I’m changing jobs between now and the conference, this means that I may have new imperatives thrust upon me in the next few weeks that might change my priorities.

There are also suggestions on the internet that sessions hinting at latest oracle technologies might be referring to Oracle version 12c! Obviously if that is true that might again change my priorities.

Last year the OAK table Sunday sessions mostly duplicated other sessions, allowing flexibility with 2 bites of the cherry at some of the best sessions.

Finally in the past, I have had the strong expectation that the most popular sessions will also be repeated at SIGs meetings so that I don’t need to attend them at the UKOUG conference. In fact I suspect that many people use SIGs as practice runs for the conference, a practice that seems to be unfortunately in decline.

So to my goals and methods.

I have been a developer and a DBA, in general I have a bias towards DBA technology sessions as I tend to believe that they are beneficial to both disciplines.

I do have a bias towards roundtables, obviously there are no roundtable slides to download and if you don’t attend then you will gain zero benefit from them. However in some areas Round tables often seem to replicate themselves from previous years. For example I wouldn’t feel the need to attend the security roundtable every year. stuff changes but not so often to make attending the session mandatory every year.

So, to Monday:

With the expectation that the session will have 12c content I plan to attend:10:30-11:!5 Tom Kyte – Oracle

KEYNOTE: Oracle’s Latest Generation of Database Technology

If I suspect that there will be little 12c content I might defect to:

10:30 – 11:15 Duncan Mills – Oracle

KEYNOTE: The Future of Development for Oracle Fusion—From Desktop to Mobile to Cloud

11:50 – 12:35 Steve Millidge – C2B2 Consulting

Real Life WebLogic Performance Tuning: Tales and Techniques from the Field

I have personally experienced the obscure methods required to tune Weblogic on Windows and hope that there will be good specific information of use in this session.

Alternatively, I would also love to attend:

11:50 – 12:35 Jonathan Lewis, Oracle ACE Director – JL Computer Consultancy

Creating Test Cases

I think that it is also worth noting that I have already attended this session during the Northern technology day and found it worthwhile:

11:50 – 12:35 Peter Homes – Interoute Application Management

Oracle 10g & 11g Automatic SGA/Memory Management Cautionary tales.

13:00 – 13:45 Tim Hall, Oracle ACE Director – ORACLE-BASE.com

PL/SQL : Stop Making The Same Performance Mistakes

However in case of cancellation it would be:

12:45 – 13:45 Carl Dudley, Oracle ACE Director – University of Wolverhampton

SQL Tips, Techniques and Traps to Avoid

Based largely on the excellent information on the AMIS website:

14:40 – 15:25 Luc Bors – AMIS Services

Survival of the Fittest: How to Evolve Your Oracle Forms to the 21st Century

15:40 – 17:30 Jonathan Lewis, Oracle ACE Director – JL Computer Consultancy

B-Tree Indexes

Although I’ll wonder if I really should have been at:

15:50 – 16:35 Carlos Sierra – Oracle

How to Create in 5 Minutes a SQL Tuning Test Case Using SQLTXPLAIN

And

16:45 – 17:30 John King, Oracle ACE – King Training Resources

What’s Old is New Again: Oracle Forms 11gR2 New Features

17:40 – 18:40

Sport not being my thing, I’ll be looking to fill this time with a trip to:

The Post Office Vaults | Birmingham’s Premier Foreign Bottled Beer 

www.postofficevaults.co.uk/

1 Comment »

  1. [...] else’s view of this year’s conference, from a delegate’s perspective, check out this post by my friend Big Dave Roberts. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, I’ve personally got more out of the [...]

    Pingback by Why Present (UKOUG TEBS 2012) « Martin Widlake's Yet Another Oracle Blog — November 27, 2012 @ 12:13 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

The Rubric Theme Blog at WordPress.com.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

